Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

Where the Red Fern Grows

by Wilson Rawls

eBook

0 of 1 copy available

Place a hold Read a sample Read a sample

For fans of Old Yeller and Shiloh, Where the Red Fern Grows is a beloved classic that captures the powerful bond between man and man's best friend.

Billy has long dreamt of owning not one, but two, dogs. So when he's finally able to save up enough money for two pups to call his own—Old Dan and Little Ann—he's ecstatic. It doesn't matter that times are tough; together they'll roam the hills of the Ozarks.
Soon Billy and his hounds become the finest hunting team in the valley. Stories of their great achievements spread throughout the region, and the combination of Old Dan's brawn, Little Ann's brains, and Billy's sheer will seems unbeatable. But tragedy awaits these determined hunters—now friends—and Billy learns that hope can grow out of despair, and that the seeds of the future can come from the scars of the past.

Praise for Where the Red Fern Grows

A Top 100 Children's Novel, School Library Journal's A Fuse #8 Production
A Must-Read for Kids 9 to 14, NPR
Winner of Multiple State Awards
Over 7 million copies in print!

"A rewarding book . . . [with] careful, precise observation, all of it rightly phrased." —The New York Times Book Review

"One of the great classics of children's literature . . . Any child who doesn't get to read this beloved and powerfully emotional book has missed out on an important piece of childhood for the last 40-plus years." —Common Sense Media

"An exciting tale of love and adventure you'll never forget." —School Library Journal

"A book of unadorned naturalness." —Kirkus Reviews

"Written with so much feeling and sentiment that adults as well as children are drawn [in] with a passion." —Arizona Daily Star

"It's a story about a young boy and his two hunting dogs and . . . I can't even go on without getting a little misty." —The Huffington Post

"A brilliant literary work." —TeenInk.com

"We tear up just thinking about it." —Time on the film adaptation


Expand title description text
Publisher: Random House Children's Books

Kindle Book

  • Release date: January 12, 2011

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9780307781567
  • Release date: January 12, 2011

EPUB eBook

  • ISBN: 9780307781567
  • File size: 342 KB
  • Release date: January 12, 2011


Loading

0 of 1 copy available

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB eBook

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS: 4.9
Lexile® Measure: 700
Interest Level: 4-8(MG)

For fans of Old Yeller and Shiloh, Where the Red Fern Grows is a beloved classic that captures the powerful bond between man and man's best friend.

Billy has long dreamt of owning not one, but two, dogs. So when he's finally able to save up enough money for two pups to call his own—Old Dan and Little Ann—he's ecstatic. It doesn't matter that times are tough; together they'll roam the hills of the Ozarks.
Soon Billy and his hounds become the finest hunting team in the valley. Stories of their great achievements spread throughout the region, and the combination of Old Dan's brawn, Little Ann's brains, and Billy's sheer will seems unbeatable. But tragedy awaits these determined hunters—now friends—and Billy learns that hope can grow out of despair, and that the seeds of the future can come from the scars of the past.

Praise for Where the Red Fern Grows

A Top 100 Children's Novel, School Library Journal's A Fuse #8 Production
A Must-Read for Kids 9 to 14, NPR
Winner of Multiple State Awards
Over 7 million copies in print!

"A rewarding book . . . [with] careful, precise observation, all of it rightly phrased." —The New York Times Book Review

"One of the great classics of children's literature . . . Any child who doesn't get to read this beloved and powerfully emotional book has missed out on an important piece of childhood for the last 40-plus years." —Common Sense Media

"An exciting tale of love and adventure you'll never forget." —School Library Journal

"A book of unadorned naturalness." —Kirkus Reviews

"Written with so much feeling and sentiment that adults as well as children are drawn [in] with a passion." —Arizona Daily Star

"It's a story about a young boy and his two hunting dogs and . . . I can't even go on without getting a little misty." —The Huffington Post

"A brilliant literary work." —TeenInk.com

"We tear up just thinking about it." —Time on the film adaptation


Expand title description text